Withdrawal Agreement Vote 2020

Posted by in Uncategorized

The second (Amendment 12) deprives ministers of the power to decide which courts may depart from the judgments of the European Court of Justice. MEPs voted against by 241 votes in favour and 205, which resulted in the amendment. Parliament will have to approve any future relations agreement. If such an agreement deals with powers that the EU shares with member states, national parliaments must also ratify it. The 599-page withdrawal agreement covers the following main areas:[16] The Declaration on Relations between the European Union and the United Kingdom, also known as a Political Declaration, is a non-binding declaration that was negotiated and signed at the same time as the broader mandatory withdrawal agreement on the withdrawal of the United Kingdom (UK) from the European Union (EU). , colloquially known as Brexit, and the expected end of the transition period. On 16Thover, the British Parliament voted 432 to 202 against May`s Brexit deal. In response to the result, European Council President Donald Tusk suggested that the only solution be for the UK to remain in the EU. Meanwhile, the British Labour Party has called for a vote of no confidence in the Prime Minister, his second leadership challenge in as many months. Parliament`s coordination group in the United Kingdom, led by Foreign Affairs Committee Chairman David McAllister (EPP, DE), will work with the EU Task Force on Relations with the UK and will work with the Foreign Affairs Committee and the Committee on International Trade and all other relevant committees. The Pe will closely monitor the work of EU negotiator Michel Barnier and will continue to influence the negotiations through resolutions.

The final agreement must be approved by the whole of Parliament. The agreement was revised as part of the Johnson Department renegotiation in 2019. The amendments amend about 5% of the text[22] If the UK does not ask for an extension beyond 2020, trade relations will be governed by any agreement or World Trade Organization rules from the beginning of 2021. The transitional period from 1 February expires at the end of December 2020. Any agreement on future relations between the EU and the UK must be concluded in full before that date, when it is due to come into force on 1 January 2021. After the vote, President Sassoli will make a statement to the Assembly, inviting British MEPs and group presidents to a brief ceremony in the Yehudi Menuhin region at around 6.15pm.